Board of Directors

Kimberley Ports Authority governing body is a board of six directors appointed by and responsible to the Minister for Transport.

The Board sets the strategic direction of KPA.

Chair Mr Laurie Shervington LLB

Mr Shervington was appointed to the Board on 24 March 2011 and his current term expires 31 December 2018.

He has been a practicing lawyer for 46 years and has listed public company and private company experience as a director.


Deputy Chair Dr David Mofflin PhD(Cantab), BE Hons, FIEAust

Mr Mofflin was appointed to the Board on 21 October 2013 and his current term expires on 30 June 2019.

Mr Mofflin has broad experience in the engineering sector, including overall business management, strategic planning, business acquisition, project advisory and due diligence; technology commercialisation, and project management. In recent times he has been engaged in developing bankable feasibilities and delivery strategies for multi-billion dollar mining projects.

Mr Mofflin is a civil engineer, and holds a PhD from the University of Cambridge. He is currently a non-executive director of Engineering Education Australia, and a past Chair of the WA Centre for Engineering Leadership and Management.


Director Mr Martin Peirson-Jones

Mr Peirson-Jones was appointed to the Board on 21 October 2013 and his current term expires on 30 June 2018.

Mr Peirson-Jones is a resident of Broome who first came to the Kimberley some 40 years ago to work on cattle stations. He now heads the family owned Kimberley Accommodation group of companies which operate a number of hospitality businesses in both the East and West Kimberley.

He was a founding member of the original Port of Broome advisory board and sits on the Executive of the W.A. Branch of the Australian Hotels Association.


Director Ms Anna Dartnell

Ms Dartnell was appointed to the inaugural KPA Board from 1 July 2015, with her term expiring on 31 December 2018.

Ms Dartnell is an operational leader with significant experience developed within global resources, manufacturing and consulting companies. Ms Dartnell is Founding Director of Continuo, a management consultancy who advise clients in the areas of business improvement, supply chain optimisation and workforce engagement.

Ms Dartnell is the current Chairman of the Board of Spare Parts Puppet Theatre and the WA Chair of NAWO (the National Association of Women in Operations).

Director Ms Sue McCarrey

Ms McCarrey was appointed to the KPA Board on 1 February 2018 and her current term expires on 30 June 2020.

Ms McCarrey has a Bachelor of Law, a Master of Education and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She has many years’ experience in senior Government positions in the Western Australian Government, including over five years as the Deputy Director General, Policy, Planning and Investment at the Department of Transport.

Ms McCarrey is currently the National Rail Safety Regulator and is a Director of the Australasian Centre for Rail Innovation.

Director Ms Rochelle Smith

Ms Smith was appointed to the Board on 1 February 2018 and her current term expires on 31 December 2019.

Ms Smith is an environmental scientist who has worked in the oil and gas industry for over 20 years. Rochelle has worked with multinational oil and gas companies, as well as with the Western Australian and Commonwealth governments. She has a Bachelor of Science with Honours in Biological Sciences and a Masters in Environmental Science. 

Director Ms Susan Bergersen 

Ms Bergersen is a resident of Broome and has extensive experience as a corporate executive in not-for-profit and commercial sectors working in state, national and international roles in Perth, Sydney and Japan.

Ms Bergersen has a strong track record in successfully leading new strategic and business improvement initiatives, taking new products to market, finance and operational performance management and stakeholder engagement.

Ms Bergersen has held various directorships most notably eight years as Australian subsidiary director Transhex Group SA, five years Australian director foreign private services company NZ and past chair of the Ear Science Institute Australia executive board for five years.  She is currently on the board of the Broome Chamber of Commerce and the Shire of Broome Economic Development Advisory Committee.

The Kimberley Ports Authority Board of Directors hold regular full board meetings with three reporting sub Committees being the:

  • Governance sub Committee, chaired by Laurie Shervington

  • Audit, Human Resources and Remuneration sub Committee chaired by Sue McCarrey

  • Risk sub-Committee, chaired by David Mofflin

Back to top